top of page

Chicken coops of the Sahel

The henhouses of the Sahel are a micro-credit project started in 2013 in the north of Burkina Faso in the village of Bilinga. To start the project, sixty five thousand CFA francs (100 euros) are allocated to the women of the village by the President of Echange Nord Sud in order to set up local chicken farms, which can provide them with a sustainable income.

 

In order to favor the collective interest and female solidarity, a local monitoring committee has been created  who is in charge of selecting the 6 women who will receive ten thousand CFA to start their activity. The following year, these 6 women will have to donate the amount received to another woman in their neighborhood, chosen again via the committee. It should be noted that the choice of breeding is left to the discretion of the women.

During his trip in July 2015, the President of the association was able to see the success of the project: to date, 24 women have been able to benefit from micro-credit (6 additional women per year) and all have made profits thanks to this activity. The improvement in the food consumption of families is also one of the spin-offs of this project that should be noted.

 

The henhouses of the Sahel are therefore a project on a human scale with very encouraging results and whose benefits were quickly visible!

Every mission  in the village is an opportunity to see this project grow, the women becoming more and more united and efficient.

bottom of page

© 2023 by Echange Nord Sud. Proudly created with Wix.com

Poulaillers du Sahel

Les poulaillers du Sahel sont un projet de micro-crédit mis en route en 2013 au Nord du Burkina Faso dans le village de Bilinga. Pour démarrer le projet, soixante cinq mille cfa (100 euros) sont alloués aux femmes du village par le Président d'Echange Nord Sud afin de mettre en place des élevages de poules locales, pouvant offrir un revenu pérenne à celles-ci.

 

Afin de privilégier l'intérêt collectif et la solidarité féminine, un comité local de suivi a été créé  qui se charge de sélectionner les 6 femmes qui recevront dix mille cfa pour démarrer leur activité. L'année suivante, ces 6 femmes devront reverser la somme reçue à une autre femme de leur quartier, choisie de nouveau via le comité. Il faut noter que le choix de l'élevage est laissé à la libre appréciation des femmes.

Lors de son voyage en juillet 2015, le Président de l'association a pu constater la réussite du projet: à ce jour, 24 femmes ont pu bénéficier du micro-crédit (6 femmes supplémentaires par an) et toutes ont réalisé des bénéfices grâce à cette activité. L'amélioration de la consommation alimentaire des familles est aussi une des retombée de ce projet à noter.

 

Les poulaillers du Sahel sont donc un projet à taille humaine aux résultats très encourageants et dont les bienfaits ont pu être visibles rapidement !

Chaque mission  au village est l'occasion de voir grandir ce projet, les femmes devenir de plus en plus solidaires et performantes.

  soutenez-nous

  newsletter